Think Again

Tell us about a time you made a false assumption about a person or a place — how did they prove you wrong?

PINGBACK

I have mentioned this scenario multiple times in my blog I think.

But I once met a man at a show.  A Hardcore show to be exact. I had been dragged there by a friend who I was at the time using as a “smoke buddy” / shoulder because I had been going through a rough time. This friend of mine bought me a ticket to this show and somewhat tricked me, or rather guilted me into going. I was sort of annoyed because I was not a fan of hard core. I was a metal head only, at the time. I thought the show was going to be lame. But I went, with the promise of smoke and just to get myself out of the house. The second I got there, the universe dropped someone in my path that would entrance me forever. We were walking in, and he was walking out. He shook my friend’s hand and then shook mine and asked my name. I shook back and answered, in awe of his beautiful face. I wasn’t allowed to go outside after handing my ticket in, so I asked this beautiful man to go out to my car for me and grab my cigarettes. ( BTW: I don’t smoke anymore.) He agreed and came back really fast. He told us he needed to go outside and do something ( I don’t remember what – still was in awe and trying not to drool.) So we went in from the smoking area to watch a couple other bands. I was bored and decided since I probably would never meet these people ever again, I would be an Extrovert tonight. I said hi to everyone. I got a pick from a bassist from a band called Nihilitus, which I still have to this day, and ended up accidentally meeting the man who got my cigarettes father. I had no idea.

The music began and everyone crowded in, my friend and I close to the front of the stage. I liked the beginning of the music, and felt myself actually getting curious about the show, and then, out he walked from side stage and grabbed the mic. My heart dropped.

Right in front of my eyes, my cigarette fetching, angel eyed, beautiful new crush on stage. What. The. Fuck. I immediately felt sad, but excited. I had been looking over my shoulder all night long searching for him, and now I see him on stage. His voice chilled me, and his words touched my heart. I wanted to cry from the overwhelming amount of feelings. I was bummed because I thought he was probably a ladies man and probably would get cigarettes for anyone who bats their eyes at him, I thought he was probably famous and already had someone, and would never look in my direction ever again. Yet I was proud that he took the time to shake my hand, ask my name and get my junk for me from the car. I was confused to say the least. After his band’s performance ended, or rather seconds BEFORE it ended, my friend whisked me away out the door. I wanted so badly to say goodbye to this mystery man, but thought he probably was too busy with the other females who were jumping around and singing his lyrics. I thought I was most likely unimportant.

That night the whole way home, I could not keep my mouth shut about that band! They gave me chills! I could tell my friend was getting over hearing about it because he had already known who they were, and also, which I didn’t find out about until later, had been growing slight feelings for me.

I spent about 2 weeks stalking. I found the band’s Facebook, figured out my mystery man’s last name and found HIS Facebook. I sent the friend request and proceeded to wait. Nothing happened after that, except for me drooling over his pictures and wishing and wondering what he would be like on a date, or more. Finally, he was selling tickets to his next show, and posted his cell phone number. I immediately saved it in my phone. I know, am SUCH a creep, but I felt something. “Hit me up for tickets” was at the end of his post. I finally, after a few hours got up the courage to send a text. “Hi! I’m “hitting you up” but not for tickets.” I told him who I was and he knew right away. It turns out, he had been looking for ME, and the reason he had never sent a message, was because he thought the friend who brought me to the show, was my boyfriend. HAHA. We continued texting for a couple of days and ended up hanging out. We have been inseparable for the past 2 years, and now are taking our first steps into parenthood together.

He has been saved as Soulmate in my phone since the first day I texted him. I don’t know what that feeling was, but something made me chase. I do not usually chase anything, especially if I think it is out of reach, but I am so happy that time I did. I swore he was a different person, but I have never been more wrong.

Just talking to him, I saw that the face on the stage was a mere mask, a stage persona, and beneath was a real, down to earth person who was looking for the same thing I was. A Soulmate.

2 thoughts on “Think Again

  1. May I simply just say what a comfort to find somebody who genuinely understands
    what they are talking about on the net. You actually know how
    to bring an issue to light and make it important. More and more
    people really need to check this out and understand this side of your story.
    It’s surprising you’re not more popular because you surely have
    the gift.

Leave a Reply

