Age- Old Questions

So I guess I am just going in between The Daily Post’s Daily Prompt and the 365 eBook. Lately I have had more answers for the Daily Posts Prompts. I guess today on 365 I just couldn’t think of what to write.

 

“Age is just a number,” says the well-worn adage. But is it a number you care about, or one you tend (or try) to ignore?

 

Age used to bother me. Mostly when I was told I wasn’t old enough for something, or when someone tried to tell me “oh you’re just young” as if I didn’t or wouldn’t understand something.

What most people didn’t understand about me, is that I am an observer. I learn through YOUR mistakes as well as mine. I watch people go through things that I have not, and I immediately think to myself “ok. don’t do that.” or “that seems like fun! LET’S DO IT!”Just because I was young, didn’t mean I didn’t understand what you were saying to me.

I am still pretty young, but I have hit an age where I am the one who doesn’t understand the younger ages. I have a teen sister who will be 15 in a few months and she already drives me crazy. I am pregnant so I want peace and quiet most of the time now, yet she must walk around the house blasting her music, and to be honest, it is not even music anymore. Another thing I do not understand about kids these days. The music they listen to is literally a bunch of recorded noises, with some high pitched voice repeating the same thing over and over again. The only way I can describe it, is some kind of techno, with a remixed rap robot on top of it. And THAT is making it sound better. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t mind some rap, and certain techno intrigues me, but it needs to be going somewhere. I will admit, the music I listen to may sound like noise to others, in fact, when I was a teenager, my dad called it all devil worshiping music and that all they do is scream and sound angry, but behind that angry sound, there is always a story. And no I do not worship the devil.

I still try to ignore the whole age thing all together, but it just keeps popping up now. I guess once you hit 25+ you’re no longer a kid, but a REALLY BADASS OLDER KID 😉 right?

 

2 thoughts on “Age- Old Questions

Leave a Reply

