Memories for Sale

On a weekend road trip, far away from home, you stumble upon a garage sale in a neighborhood you’re passing through. Astonished, you find an object among the belong- ings for sale that you recognize. Tell us about it.

Boyfriend and I were driving up the coast to check out this old castle up in Cambria, when we came across a quaint town. Among the beautiful stone buildings and wood chip paths we find a garage sale with the most curious things.

I wandered between tables and awkwardly standing shelves searching for the perfect treasure. Dragging my fingertips from one lock box to a stack of books to an old green scarf and what to me, looked like an Indiana Jones shaped hat. I immediately grab the hat and scarf because Emerald Green is my favorite color, and there was something mysterious about this scarf. I wrap it around my neck and throw the hat on and glance at boyfriend from across the yard. We share a silent snicker and continue searching. I look down and see the space where this scarf had been coiled with hat perched on top of it, and notice something that wasn’t there before… an old bound book. I pick it up and drop the hat back on the table, the scarf slides down off of my neck. What on earth is THIS?!

An old journal looking book with large pages. As I open it I notice beautiful hand writing and some small drawn pictures. I pass a few pages and come to something a bit confusing… A pressed fairy… Intrigued yet feeling caught off guard, I slam the book shut and walk quickly to boyfriend. Found something. You ready?

As we are driving away from our stop, I open the book one more time. This same pressed fairy book had been one of mine, and my grandmothers favorites when I was a child. We would sit in her garden completely still with a book wide open and wait for them to get curious enough to climb on top of it, then SLAM!

beautiful bug colors and wings smashed into the pages.

2 thoughts on “Memories for Sale

Leave a Reply

