Teachable moment

You have to learn a new skill. Do you prefer to read about it, watch someone else do it, hear someone describe it, or try it yourself?

My entire life, I have been somewhat of a fence sitter. I would really rather see you do it a few times and in my mind analyze everything you are doing so I can then copy it and try it myself. I am not sure why this is, maybe a fear of “doing it wrong.” I am discovering that I am quite a perfectionist, to the point where if I make a mistake, it bothers me. This is not to say- I don’t make mistakes. I do, it’s just like touching sand paper though. Especially when it is an $80 rat cage that I don’t have money to replace if you or I FUCKITUP.

I heard myself explaining to boyfriend the other day that I don’t understand “why certain people can’t just analyze or read the directions and do it right and perfect the first time, rather than not reading the directions and just going into it willy nilly and wondering why this piece does not fit with this piece.” I sometimes make myself laugh because of the outer perspective I THINK I have of life. I sometimes feel as though I am an alien and humans are a mystery to me.

Tell me dear friend, how do YOU prefer to learn new skills? What is one skill you have that you are proud of?

One thought on “Teachable moment

Leave a Reply

