Quote me

Do you have a favorite quote that you return to again and again? What is it, and why does it move you?

“Bitter or Better”

say it out loud.

now repeat it.

think about it. would you rather be bitter?

or get better.

I was told a story when I was in cosmetology school about a woman named Angie Cranor. At 16 Angie’s love was playing basketball. One game her father told her to “play this game like its the last game you’ll ever play,” and Angie, thinking she had the rest of her life to play ball, didn’t take it to heart. The next day, Angie was in a car accident that left her paralyzed from the waist down. She learned from this experience that you only have today to give that 100%.

During the time Angie was in the hospital, she met two men who had the same injury. One man was extremely bitter and called his nurse to help him with everything. The nurse said he would probably end up in a nursing home because he couldn’t take care of himself and wouldn’t try. The other man was very positive and talked to Angie every day saying he would see her when they were done with treatment and they would be walking some day. Angie finally decided to get bitter or better and eventually became a hairdresser. My favorite part of this story is when Angie says this –

You can do anything you want, no matter how big the obstacles. The accident wasn’t a bad thing. It was just a difficult thing that has made my life better. As you go through life’s experiences and have your ups and downs, always consciously decide to get better.

The reason why the quote “Bitter or Better” moves me so much, is because the meaning really hit me at one point. I was in no way in any position like Angie. I just broke my hand. Though, it was the circumstances in which I broke it that really broke me. I was First Chair in the honors program of Paul Mitchell known as Phase 2, student of the month and top product sales. I had return clients. I felt like I had the world. Then I let one idiot get me so upset to the point of hurting myself. I punched a solid wood door instead of his stupid face and broke a knuckle in my right hand. My cutting, blowdrying, sectioning, coloring, EVERYTHING hand. And this was my last month of school. This school and everything I did in it was my life at the time, so this devastated me.

I couldn’t do anything but stand and watch. My arm was wrapped up to my damn elbow. The worst part was, I was graduating soon and we were going to be holding a graduation ceremony AT the school in which I would do 2 models for my family and friends to see. It was then that I decided to get Bitter or get Better.

Awaken ruinous fiend of early generations.
Your rotting corpse is restored.
Straighten your limbs brush off the dust withered bandages restrain you no more.

I cut off the bandages and dyed and cut until my heart was content.

I consciously chose to get Better and completed my graduation.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 thoughts on “Quote me

  1. “Go placidly amid the noise and haste, and remember what peace there may be in silence.”
    ~From The Desiderata

    Whenever I feel overwhelmed I think of this line. It helps me find the quiet, calm center.

Leave a Reply

